top of page

Dealing With Stress At Work

Still undecided as to whether it's a blessing or a curse, but I've been fortunate enough to work at several organisations - from media, to fashion; beauty to advertising. Whilst I loved each role, especially the most challenging ones as I came out the other side better for it. At each organisation there comes a point where my stress levels shoot through the roof! I'm talking major anxiety. The type where I can't talk about anything but work and everyone in my life knows I'm stressed.

Between worrying about career advancement, job security, doing the job well and office politics; new stressors are always around the corner. And if you've ever worked in marketing or ad agency you'll know that it's cutthroat. Many of your ideas will end up in the trash can, and some days you'll wonder why you even need the job at all. I mean eating cereal and ramen noodles three times a day and moving back in with your parents will start to look real appealing.

But unfortunately rule no 1 of adulting is to DEAL WITH IT! So here are my tips in managing your stress levels at work.

Here are three things I've learnt. Repeat after me:

I cannot kill myself,

I cannot come and kill myself,

and finally,

I cannot come and go and kill myself!

You're no good to anyone if you can't function properly, even the boss that requires you to work from 7am - 11pm, will ditch you if you're no longer able to perform at the standard you used to.

Understand that you're replaceable.

If you fell ill today, the company will not collapse. Someone else will take your place. Let that sink in. Along with the stress, ignoring it doesn't work, trust me, I've tried. You've gotta face your triggers head on, try to make a checklist on ways to resolve them, this helps you feel more in control.

TAKE REGULAR BREAKS.

Five minutes here and there, and at least one stretch of thirty minutes. Go for a walk, listen to music, read a book, anything that helps you relax and take your mind off work in that moment. Also USE YOUR HOLIDAYS!

At my first job, I struggled to take ANY time off, felt bad even. I ate at my desk, worked through lunch, arrived early and left late. Sometimes this is necessary, but doing this everyday for months, coupled with other commitments outside work wasn't necessary. It wasn't long before I crashed and burned, I was forced to waste almost two weeks off sick.

DON'T GIVE IN TO OFFICE POLITICS

I know it's tempting to want to pour laxatives into Janice's coffee, but no matter how much she irks you, don't do it girl! Walk away from those coffee room chats with Gina that usually turn into a bitchfest! In fact keep caffeine consumption to a minimum. When temperatures start to rise, try to stay calm, recite a scripture or mantra in your head to help you remember why dragging Becky's hair isn't one of your brightest ideas. After all she's a perfect example of what not to become in the workplace.

LET LOVE REIGN

No, I don't mean, buy everyone chocolate and flowers at work - although you totally can this month - I mean use the option of phoning a friend, or meeting le boo for lunch. Speak to someone who knows and loves you, talking to that person triggers one or all of three chemicals: norepinephrine, dopamine, and serotonin and brings a sense of relief.

THIS TOO SHALL PASS

Whatever your stressor is, be it the mountaneous task before you, a disciplinary action, your boss, job security or your demon of a colleague. Remember that it won't last forever.

And finally, if it's a case of just being really unhappy and dissatisfied with your job or career option, honestly sis, start looking for a better job. If you hate it so much that it's interfering with your happiness, don't put yourself through the agony of it all. Not saying there won't be demons disguised as colleagues, or other stressful periods at the new job, but at least you'll love what you're doing and probably earning more too.

Related Posts

See All
You may also like 
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page